1.800.561.8000 REQUEST INFO

Campus Life

Wall of Fame

Campus Life

Wall of Fame

Corner Brook Campus "Convocation 2017"

On June 9, 2017, Corner Brook Campus students and staff attended their Annual Convocation Ceremony at the Corner Brook Civic Centre Studio in Corner Brook. The studio was full to capacity with their family, friends, honoured guests, and 111 graduating students in attendance.

Ms. Mindy Finlay, Vice Principal, and Mr. Colin Burridge, Principal, began with introduction and opening remarks. Mr. Carl Barrett, Director of Operations, delivered greetings from head office. Following this, Mr. Kurtis Ferguson, Occupational Health and Safety graduate and guest speaker, and Mr. Robert King, Class Valedictorian, both addressed the convocation with their inspirational and congratulatory messages.

Next, Ms. Rose Hatcher, Registrar, presented graduates with their diplomas, with the assistance of each Program Instructor. Program award recipients were also presented with their medals at this time.

Thank you for your inspiring and motivating words.

Occupational Health and Safety Student, Robert King, Corner Brook Campus Convocation 2017 Valedictorian.

President's Award

The President’s Award is bestowed to one individual who displays the values that Academy Canada encourages in all students. These values include good academic standing, leadership, professionalism, a positive attitude and a strong sense of school spirit.

Individuals for this award are nominated by their instructors through a written submission to the Academy Canada's President, Mr. Michael Barrett. A thorough evaluation is completed and a selection is made.

Mr. Colin Burridge, Principal, presented this award to Ms. Serina McKinnon, Criminology Student.

Corner Brook Campus Principal, Colin Burridge (Left), presents the President's Award to Criminology Student, Serina McKinnon (Right).

Program Winners

Program Recipient
Adult Basic Education Richard Kennedy
Business Administration Janice Wellon
Carpenter (Entry) Randy Greene
Construction/Industrial Electrician (Entry) Rod Fewer
Criminology Serina McKinnon
Esthetics and Spa Management with Electrolysis Nicole Marche
Hairstylist (Entry) Charmaine Jones
Home Support Worker/Personal Care Attendant Susan McCarthy
Medical Device Reprocessing Crystal Samson
Motor Vehicle Body Repairer (Entry) Spencer Lush
Occupational Health and Safety Dennis Sweetapple
Office Administration (General Studies) Charmaine Mitchell
Office Administration Technology Rebecca Vardy
Steamfitter/Pipefitter (Entry) Nick Molyneux
Veterinary Assistant/Receptionist Hailey Spingle Thomas
Welder (Entry) Mason Power

Corner Brook Campus Award Winners and Special Recognition Recipients:

Left to Right: Serina McKinnon (President’s Award), Susan McCarthy (Home Support/Personal Care Attendant "Program Award"), Hailey Spingle Thomas (Veterinary Assistant/Receptionist "Program Award"), Kurtis Ferguson (Guest Speaker), Dennis Sweetapple (Occupational Health and Safety "Program Award"), Robert King (Valedictorian), Janice Wellon (Business Administration "Program Award"), and Nicole Marche (Esthetics and Spa Management with Electrolysis "Program Award").

Graham Blundon Outstanding Instructor Award

The Graham Blundon Outstanding Instructor Award is presented in memory of Graham Blundon – a great friend, teacher, mentor and supporter of Academy Canada. This award recognizes the exceptional commitment of the instructors who strive to ensure the success of their students. The recipient of this award demonstrates a tireless dedication to lifelong learning and an unwavering loyalty to continuous improvement of themselves and their students.

An instructor is chosen based on student recommendations to Campus Administration.

Ms. Mindy Finlay, Vice Principal, presented the Graham Blundon Outstanding Instructor Award, to this year’s recipient, Mr. Roger Thornhill, Adult Basic Education Instructor.

Corner Brook Campus Vice Principal, Mindy Finlay (Left), presents the Graham Blundon Outstanding Instructor award to Adult Basic Education Instructor, Roger Thornhill (Right).

Congratulations to all graduates and award recipients of this year’s annual convocation ceremony!

Request more info

Receive more information about your school and programs by email! You may unsubscribe at any time.

Fields marked as "*" are mandatory.