Skip to content

Harding and Kenmount Road Campus – Convocation 2018

Home » Wall of Fame » Harding and Kenmount Road Campus – Convocation 2018

On May 17, 2018, Harding Road and Kenmount Road campus students and staff attended Academy Canada’s Annual Convocation Ceremony at the St. John’s’ Arts and Culture Centre. The auditorium was full with family, friends, guests, and 267 graduating students.

Ms. Anita Morgan, Harding Road Campus Principal, and Ms. Elizabeth Campbell, Kenmount Road Campus Principal, began with opening remarks and introduced several speakers including Mr. James Loder, Head Office Representative, and Mr. Kevin Sheppard, Graduate Guest Speaker, from the Natural Resources program and Mr. Ryan Baker, School Valedictorian and Graduate from the Adult Basic Education program.

Thank you all for your inspiring and motivating words.

Harding and Kenmount Campus Convocation 2018

Academy Canada Director, James Loder, speaks during Convocation 2018 ceremony.

Harding and Kenmount Campus Convocation - Guest Speaker

Natural Resources Graduate, Kevin Sheppard, Convocation 2018 “Guest Speaker”.

Valedictorian 2018 - Baker - Academy Canada

Ryan Baker, Convocation 2018 “Valedictorian”.

President’s Award

The President’s Award is Academy Canada’s highest honour awarded to one student from each campus reflecting the ideals we strive to instill in our graduates including leadership, professionalism, positive attitude, good overall average, and a willingness to participate in school and extra-curricular activities.

Staff members provide recommendations to Academy Canada President, Mr. Mike Barrett, who selects a recipient. A difficult decision to make as several students were deserving of this award.

Ms. Elizabeth Campbell presented this award to Ms. Cathy Osmond, Kenmount Road Campus “Esthetics and Spa Management”  Student, and Ms. Anita Morgan presented the award to Mr. Noel Squires, Harding Road Campus “Steamfitter/Pipefitter” Student.

Congratulations to both recipients.

President's Award 2018 - Academy Canada

Elizabeth Campbell (left), Kenmount Road Campus Principal, presents the President’s Award to “Esthetics and Spa Management” Graduate, Cathy Osmond (right).

President's Award 2018 - Academy Canada

Anita Morgan (left), Harding Road Campus Principal, presents the President’s Award to “Steamfitter/Pipefitter” Gradate, Noel Squires (right).

Program Winners

Ms. Anita Morgan presented the following Program Awards:

Adult Basic EducationHusam Aldagher
Animal Grooming ProfessionalMolly Clay
Business AdministrationBobbi Collins
Carpenter (Entry)Allan Owens
Cook (Entry)Jeff Freake
CriminologyPatrick Smith
Esthetics (Electrolysis)Morganne Elliott
Esthetics and Spa Management with ElectrolysisCathy Osmond
Interior DecoratingMeghan Sullivan
Law Enforcement FoundationsSteve Gruchy
Massage TherapyAlanah Whiteway
Medical Device ReprocessingCatherine Weir
Multimedia Graphic DesignJim Desautels
Nail TechnicianAlisha Conrad
Natural ResourcesDale Samson
Occupational Health and SafetyWilliam Street
Office Administration (General Studies)Yasir “Thomas” Hamid
Photographic StudiesAmanda Roberts
Physiotherapy AssistantTori Neil
Plumber (Entry)Dean Guest
Steamfitter/Pipefitter (Entry)Noel Squires
Veterinary Assistant/ReceptionistTabitha Thacker
Welder (Entry)William Galeano Ray

Memorial Program Awards and Diploma Presentations

Mr. Steve Browne presented the Memorial Program Awards:

ProgramMemorial AwardRecipient
Academic StudiesBeverly Anne WhalenMaxwell Saksagiak
Automotive Service Technician (Entry)Justin IngramBradley Green Hynes
Construction/Industrial Electrician (Entry)Mike PurdyJosh Cochrane
Hairstylist (Entry)Marilyn JarvisTabatha Kendrick
Office Administration Technology (Medal, Dental, Legal, Engineering, Records Management)Melissa GlynnSirley Quinones
Paralegal StudiesJosephine HarrisDarlene Tremblett
Therapeutic RecreationJeremy CrossShawna Young

Following the program awards, Ms. Colleen Power, Kenmount Road Campus Vice Principal, and Ms. Angela Bennett, Harding Road Campus Registrar, presented diplomas to our graduating students.

Graham Blundon Outstanding Instructor Awards

Ms. Elizabeth Campbell and Ms. Anita Morgan presented the Graham Blundon Outstanding Instructor award.

This award is presented in memory of Graham Blundon – a great friend, teacher, mentor, and Academy Canada’s supporter. It recognizes an instructor’s exceptional commitment to strive for their student’s success.

This is awarded to an instructor exemplifying leadership, compassion, student and school involvement, and extra-curricular commitment.

An instructor from each campus is presenting this award based on student recommendations.

Katie Corbett, Adult Basic Education Instructor, and Vicki Hollett, Occupational health and Safety Instructor are the Kenmount Road and Harding Road Campus “Outstanding Instructor” award winners respectfully.

Instructor of the Year 2018 - Academy Canada

Katie Corbett (left), Adult Basic Education Instructor, 2018 Kenmount Road Campus “Instructor of the Year”.

“Year In Review” Presentation

Following the awards presentation, our audience enjoyed a “Year in Review” picture presentation featuring students and staff pictures from both campuses during various events at the Kenmount and Harding Road Campuses throughout the year.

Thank you to Neil Bolt, IT Manager, for putting together this excellent slideshow which everyone appreciated.

Congratulations to our 2018 Graduates. You did it! We are so proud of each and every one of you.

Harding and Kenmount Campus Convocation Graduates

Your Convocation 2018 graduates.

Scroll To Top