Skip to content

St. John’s Campuses – Convocation 2023

Home » Wall of Fame » St. John’s Campuses – Convocation 2023

On Thursday, May 18, 2023 the Students and Staff from both the Harding Road and Kenmount Road campuses attended Academy Canada’s Convocation Ceremony. We had 241 graduates from 2022-2023 attend.

Ms. Anita Morgan, Regional Director, began with the opening remarks and introduced a couple of speakers including Jackie White, Business Development Director, to bring greetings from the Board of Directors, Honourable John Abbott, “Minister of Children, Seniors and Social Development” and MHA for the District of St. John’s East, brought greetings and words of encouragement to our graduates. The Honourable Tom Osborne, Minster of Health and Community Services and Honourable Pam Parsons, Minster Responsible for Women and Gender Equality also sent along greetings to be read at our Convocation Ceremony. Next our 2023 Valedictorian, Cindy Maher, a graduate of our Occupational Health and Safety program shared her wonderful memories and experience during her time as a student with us.

Thank you all for your inspiring and motivating words.

Occupational Health and Safety Graduate and Valedictorian, Cindy Maher, gives a speech about her time as an Academy Canada Student.

President’s Award

The President’s Award is Academy Canada’s highest honour awarded to one student from each graduating year who reflects the ideals we strive to instil in our graduates including leadership, professionalism, positive attitude, good overall average and a willingness to participate in school activities.

Staff members provide recommendations to Academy Canada’s president, Mr. Mike Barrett, who selects a recipient. A difficult decision to make as several students were deserving of this award.

Ms. Anita Morgan presented these awards to;

Harding Road – Christine McNeil, Cook Student

Kenmount Road – Katlyn Winters, Therapeutic Recreation Student

Congratulations to our recipients.

Cooking Instructor, Bernie Ann Ezekiel (right), presents the President’s Award to Christine McNeil (left)

Therapeutic Recreation Instructor, Joanne Bennett (right), presents the President’s Award to Katlyn Winters (left)

Program Award Winners

ProgramAward Winner
Adult Basic EducationPaiman Shekho
Animal Grooming ProfessionalMaryann Martin
Automotive Service Technician (Justin Ingram Memorial Award)Starr Webb
Business Administration (Patsy Trahey Memorial Award)Jennalyn Marcelo
CarpenterCameron Knight
Construction/Industrial Electrician (Mike Purdy Memorial Award)Michael Ata-Burke
CookCameron Perry
CriminologyCathrina Rajamohan
ElectrolysisGabrielle Adams
Esthetics and Spa ManagementElla Strowbridge
Esthetics and Spa Management with ElectrolysisLaura Murphy
Hairstylist (Marilyn Jarvis Memorial Award)Emily Barber
Interior DecoratingBrooklyn Follett
Law Enforcement FoundationsMcKenzie Ralph
Massage TherapyKyle Austin
Medical Device ReprocessingCarolyn Murray
Multimedia Graphic DesignAnn Norris
Natural ResourcesRoderick Kelly
Occupational Health and SafetyCharmaine Furneaux
Office Administration (General Studies)Brooke Whittle
Office Administration Technology (Melissa Glynn Memorial Award)Elaine Johnson
Paralegal Studies (Josephine Harris Memorial Award)Angela Brake
Physiotherapy Assistant/Occupational Therapist AssistantShelby White
PlumberDion Janes
Refrigeration and Air Conditioning MechanicCody Butler
Steamfitter/PipefitterMichael Dawson
Therapeutic Recreation (Jeremy Cross Memorial Award)Emma Lush
Veterinary Assistant/ReceptionistHannah Blackwood
WelderMatthew Power

Following the program awards, Ms. Karen Silver, Graduate Employment Coordinator from the Harding Road Campus and Ms. Julie Yetman, Student Support Coordinator, from the Kenmount Road Campus presented diplomas to our graduating students.

Graham Blundon Outstanding Instructor Awards

Ms. Suzanne Jordan, Campus Coordinator, Harding Road Campus and Ms. Colleen Power, Vice Principal, Kenmount Road Campus presented the Graham Blundon Outstanding Instructor award.

It is presented in memory of Graham Blundon – a great friend, teacher, mentor and supporter of Academy Canada. This award recognizes the exceptional commitment of the instructors who strive to ensure the success of their students.

This is awarded to an instructor exemplifying leadership, compassion, student and school involvement and extra- curricular commitment.

The Recipient’s of the Graham Blundon Outstanding Instructor Award are;

Harding Road Campus – Bob Richard, Natural Resources Instructor

Kenmount Road Campus – Laura Power, Esthetics and Spa Management Instructor

Natural Resources Instructor, Bob Richards, receives Harding Road Campus’ “Instructor of the Year” award.

Esthetics and Spa Management Instructor, Laura Power, receives Kenmount Road Campus’ “Instructor of the Year” award.

Congratulations to our 2023 graduates. You did it! We are so proud of each and everyone of you.

Scroll To Top